Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) – Complete Detail

, , 1 Comment

Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT), is a mission aimed at transforming 500 cities and towns into efficient urban living spaces, along with special focus on  environment as in terms of healthy and green environment for the inhabitants of those cities.  Government Cabinet  has approved Rs 50,000 crore for this mission which is to be spent over the next five years.

The Mission Of AMRUT –

The mission of AMRUT is

National Priority : – 

  • Providing basic services (e.g. water supply, sewerage, urban transport) to households
  • build amenities in cities which will improve the quality of life for all, especially the poor and the disadvantaged

Also Government appeals  for  outcomes should be valued by citizens, particularly women, and indicators and standards have been prescribed by the Ministry of Urban Development (MoUD) in the form of Service Level Benchmarks (SLBs).

Also  download the following Pdf Attachment approved  – The Mission AMRUT

 Thrust Areas of AMRUT –

The Mission will focus on the following Thrust Areas:

  •  Water Supply
  • Sewerage facilities and septage management
  • Storm Water drains to reduce flooding,
  •  Pedestrian, non-motorized and public transport facilities, parking spaces
  •  Enhancing amenity value of cities by creating and upgrading green spaces, parks and recreation centers, especially for children

Mission Components The components of the AMRUT consist of capacity building, reform implementation, water supply, sewerage and septage management, storm water drainage, urban transport and development of green spaces and parks.

  • Water Supply
  • Sewerage 
  • Sludge Management
  • Storm Water Drainage-
  • Urban Transport
  • Green space and parks
  • Capacity Building

Also  download the following Pdf Attachment approved  – Thrust Areas


 List of Cities and coverage area Under AMRUT –

Five  hundred cities will be taken up under AMRUT but so far only 98 cities has been released by the government  these are as follows along with the states information –

Complete List of 98 Cities Released by Government:

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands   :     Port Blair
  • Andhra Pradesh:        Vishakhapatnam, Tirupati, Kakinada
  • Arunachal Pradesh:         Pasighat
  • Assam :             Guwahati
  • Bihar:       Muzaffarpur,   Bhagalpur,  Biharsharif
  • Chandigarh: Chandigarh
  • Chhattisgarh :   Raipur,  Bilaspur
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli :    Silvassa
  • Daman and Diu:  Diu
  • Delhi:    Delhi (NDMC)
  • Goa:      Panaji
  • Gujarat:    Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad,  Surat,  Vadodara,  Rajkot,  Dahod
  • Haryana:  Karnal,   Faridabad
  • Himachal Pradesh:   Dharamshala,
  • Jharkhand:  Ranchi
  • Karnataka: Mangaluru,  Belagavi,  Shivamogga,  Hubballi-Dharwad, Tumakuru,Davanegere
  • Kerala:  Kochi
  • Lakshadweep:    Kavarrati
  • Madhya Pradesh:   Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur,Gwalior, Sagar, Satna, Ujjain
  • Maharashtra:  Navi Mumbai, Nashik, Thane, Greater Mumbai, Amravati, Solapur, Nagpur, Kalyan-Dombivali , Aurangabad, Pune
  • Manipur: Imphal
  • Meghalaya: Shillong
  • Mizoram:  Aizawl
  • Nagaland:  Kohima
  • Odisha: Bhubaneshwar, Raurkela
  • Puducherry: Oulgaret
  • Punjab: Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar
  • Rajasthan: Jaipur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer
  • Sikkim:  Namchi
  • Tamil Nadu: Tiruchirapalli, Chennai, Tiruppur, Coimbatore, Vellore, Salem, Erode, Thanjavur, Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Madurai, Thoothukudi
  • Telangana: Greater Hyderabad,Greater Warangal
  • Tripura:  Agartala
  • Uttar Pradesh:  Moradabad, Aligarh, Saharanpur, Bareilly, Jhansi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Varanasi, Ghaziabad, Agra,Rampur
  • Uttarakhand: Dehradun
  • West Bengal: New Town Kolkata, Bidhannagar, Durgapur, Haldia


Also  download the following Pdf Attachment approved – Coverage


These cities that has been selected  confirmed the following categories – 

i. with a population of over one lakh with notified Municipalities, including Cantonment Boards (Civilian areas)

ii. All Capital Cities/Towns of States/ UTs, not covered in above

iii. All Cities/ Towns classified as Heritage Cities by MoUD under the HRIDAY Scheme

iv. Thirteen Cities and Towns on the stem of the main rivers with a population above 75,000 and less than 1 lakh, and

v. Ten Cities from hill states, islands and tourist destinations (not more than one from each State).

Cities has been covered so Far by AMRUT – 
1 Dibrugarh
2 Guwahati
3 Nagaon
4 Silchar

Official Website Released by Government –

 Funding For AMRUT –


Fund Allocation –   The total outlay for AMRUT is Rs. 50,000 crore for five years from FY2015-16 to FY2019-20 and the Mission will be operated as a Centrally Sponsored Scheme.

The Mission funds will consist of the following four parts:

i. Project fund – 80% of the annual budgetary allocation.

ii. Incentive for Reforms – 10% of the annual budgetary allocation.

iii. State funds for Administrative & Office Expenses (A&OE) – 8% of the annual budgetary allocation

iv. MoUD funds for Administrative & Office Expenses (A&OE) – 2% of the annual budgetary allocation

However, for FY 2015-16 the project fund would be 90% of the annual budgetary allocation as incentive for Reforms will be given only from FY 2016-17 onwards.

Format of State Annual Action Plan- Form SAAP

 Contact Details-  for Queries –


Shri Neeraj Mandloi
Joint Secretary (UD&A) and National Mission Director
Ministry of Urban Development, Govt of India
144-C, Nirman Bhawan, New Delhi-110108
Email ID –
Phone: +91-11-2306 3255, 2306 2028(Fax)
Shri Shiv Pal Singh
Director (AMRUT)
Ministry of Urban Development, Govt of India
309-B, Nirman Bhawan, New Delhi-110108
Email ID –
Phone/Fax: +91-11-2306 3661Shri Rajendra Pratap SinghUnder Secretary (SC-II)Ministry of Urban DevelopmentGovernment of India

Email Id-

Contact No.- 011-23061407

AMRUT_Cities-_Contact_details_of_Heads – attachment

AMRUT_Cities-_Contact_details_Nodal_Officers – attachment

AMRUT – official guidelines for AMRUT scheme


Stay connected for further Updates .


One Response

Leave a Reply