Centre to announce new list of 27 smart cities today


27 smart cities list to be announced

Hello, Friends as per the official notification announcement of the next set of cities for financing under the Modi-government flagship of Smart City Mission on this Tuesday under smart cities list by Centerboard.

Smart Cities Mission is an urban renewal and retrofitting program launched by the prime minister of Government of India with a goal to develop 100 cities all over the country making them citizen-friendly and sustainable.

The government of India under Prime Minister Narendra Modi has a vision of developing 100 smart cities as satellite towns of larger cities and by modernizing the existing mid-sized cities.

As per the Mission guidelines, On Tuesday as many as 40 cities have to be announced during this financial year 2016 . Central Government had already announced 13 cities in May 2016, but slot of 27 cities remains vacant so far
The announcement for this vacant slot would be made by – Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday.

In  January, the government had announced a list of total 20 cities for partial funding. and these cities have been select to be developed as smart cities with facilities providing such as assured water and power supply, sanitation and solid waste management systems, efficient urban mobility and public transportation, IT connectivity, and e-governance, among others under smart city mission.

Central government has approved for each city to receive Central assistance of Rs 200 crore in the first year and Rs 100 crore over the three subsequent financial years during development. State governments and respective urban local bodies has also been included to match the Centre’s contribution.

Under smart city mission Modi-government aims to transform about 100 cities by 2019-20 completely developed, along with Centre providing financial support of Rs 48,000 crore over five years after the starting.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *